Books If You Like Cinderella...

shelved under Children's Books

Is there any story more enchanting than the classic story of a girl, a couple of mean stepsisters, a glass slipper and a handsome prince?

 

Cendrillon: A Caribbean Cinderella

by Robert D. San Souci, illustrated by Brian Pinkney

The lush illustrations of this tale of a washer woman who is gifted a magic wand will transport the reader to the Caribbean.

 

Cinder Edna

by Ellen Jackson, illustrated by Kevin O'Malley

This story has two "Cinderellas", and they are both overworked and overlooked. A great compare-and-contrast story.

 

Cindy Ellen: A Wild Western Cinderella

by Susan Lowell, illustrated by Jane Manning

This rootin', tootin', rip-roarin' tale takes place at a ranch, where Cindy Ellen has a cowgirl fairy godmother to help her deal with her family woes.

 

Ella Enchanted

by Gail Carson Levine

Melanie says:

A quirky, wonderful twist on the classic Cinderella tale. Gail Carson Levine is funny and charming in her descriptions of Ella (a young girl cursed with the gift of obedience), the characters and world that surround her. If you've seen the movie, you're missing out on a LOT. Nothing against Anne Hathaway, but Levine's story is best told in her own words instead of on the big screen.

 

The Persian Cinderella

by Shirley Climo, illustrated by Robert Florczak

I really enjoyed the illustrations in this Persian addition to the classic Cinderella tale.

 

The Way Meat Loves Salt: A Cinderella Tale from the Jewish Tradition

by Nina Jaffe, illustrated by Louise August

I love that the author included the music and words to a traditional Yiddish wedding song in this Easter European Jewish Cinderella story.

 

Prince Cinders

by Babette Cole

This fun, wacky book has a male "Cinderella" who is just as put-upon as the female Cinderellas.

 

Mufaro's Beautiful Daughters Big Book

by John Steptoe

This exquisitely illustrated book introduces the reader to African culture while it weaves the tale of Mufaro's two daughters, both beautiful, but with very different temperaments. Which one will the king choose to be his wife?

 

The Korean Cinderella

by Shirley Climo, illustrated by Ruth Heller

I loved how the author incorporated some Korean words into the narrative.

 

The Salmon Princess: An Alaska Cinderella Story

by Mindy Dwyer

Beautiful illustrations help bring forth this magical story set in the Last Frontier.

 

Adelita

illustrated by Tomie dePaola

Flashlight Worthy says:
Margaret Kim Peterson, Associate Professor of Theology at Eastern University, recommended we add this book to the list and describes it as "lovely!!"